IMG_9014.JPGOn Wednesday 30th March 2011 the Open University took on the University of Exeter in the final of The ICLR Annual Mooting Competition. The prestigious event was held in the sumptuous Large Pension Room at Gray’s Inn, a space which offers the perfect setting for a legal debate.

The Large Pension Room at Gray’s Inn and the ICLR Moot Shields

Philip Zack took to the stand first for the Open University in front of Lord Justice Elias and Mr Justice Cranston, before Damian Wynne offered his submissions. Joshua Kinrade opened for the University of Exeter before handing over the argument to Emma-Lea Martin.

Philip Zack offering the judge’s his submission

After Philip Zack’s right to reply both of the judges retired for a short period to make the all-important decision. Upon their return they provided a quick judgment on the case before announcing to the expectant audience that the Open University was the winning team. As always the judges were extremely impressed with the exceptionally high standard of mooting and they both agreed that it was quite difficult to decide on a winning team.

Both teams with Mr Justice Cranston (centre left) and Lord Justice Elias (centre right)

After the moot the mooters, judges and guests alike were able to soak up the Inn’s rich ambience while enjoying a glass of wine, enabling everyone to discuss the evening’s events.

The Open University Team with their lecturer Keren Bright and Andrew Dobson, our sponsor from The Law Society Charity

Well done to both teams for reaching the final and thank you to all the teams who took part, making this competition one of the most exciting to date.

We would like to thank both of the esteemed judges, Lord Justice Elias and Mr Justice Cranston, for offering their time and expertise, and also the judges from the semi-finals, Keith Etherington, Michael Franks, Clare McConnel and Simon Harker, for all their help at The Law Society in February.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank The Law Society Charity for their continued support and extend a special thanks to Andrew Dobson, their Company Secretary, for taking the time to attend the event.

Details of The ICLR Annual Mooting Competition 2011-2012 will be released at the end of August 2011.