Congratulations to Daniel Wand, winner of the ICLR Pupillage Award 2018


Daniel will be starting pupillage in October 2018 in the Chambers of Timothy Raggatt QC, at 4 King’s Bench Walk, which has expertise in all areas of common law.

Daniel attended Hayes School in Kent before completing his undergraduate and postgraduate studies in law at the University of Sheffield, and the Bar Professional Training Course at BPP in London. He is currently finishing his doctorate in international relations at the University of Leeds. During his time in academia, Daniel has taught courses on international law, international politics, transitional justice and policy theory.

Daniel has also worked as a research assistant at the British Institute of International and Comparative Law; in the public law and human rights department at Irwin Mitchell, a formative experience that encouraged him to pursue a career at the Bar; and for a defence team at the International Criminal Court in The Hague. He is keen to develop a diverse common law practice at 4 King’s Bench Walk incorporating crime, family and public law, and he is also hoping to build on his professional and academic experience in international law.

About the award

The purpose of the award is to provide direct financial assistance (a sum of £12,000) to a pupil during the course of their 12 month pupillage in chambers. To be eligible for the ICLR Pupillage Award, the candidate had to demonstrate that:

(1) They are taking up a confirmed offer of pupillage at a set of chambers; and

(2) The pupillage award they are to receive from chambers is not valued as being more than £18,000 for a twelve month pupillage (including basic award and guaranteed earnings)

Applications were subject to two criteria: financial need and merit.

Applicants had to write two short essays and, if and when shortlisted, a headnote for a Weekly Law Report based on an unreported transcript that we supplied. 

The final decision was made by the judging panel; Mr Justice Roth, Margaret Bowron QC, and Clive Scowen, Barrister (Editor, the ICLR).

Earlier winners

The award was founded in 2016. The previous winners were:

2017: Ben Haseldine (also doing pupillage at 4 King’s Bench Walk)

2016: Sophia Stapleton (doing pupillage at 2 Dr Johnson’s Building – where she is now a tenant).